Department of Food Science, Nutrition & Technology

Food Science, Nutrition & Technology

The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine comprises five teaching departments. These include the Pre-clinical Department namely; Department of Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology, situated at Chiromo Campus. The Department of Biochemistry offers services across many disciplines and administratively it belongs to the Faculty of Medicine. The other four departments are based in Upper Kabete Campus. These are the Department of Animal Production, Department of Veterinary Pathology, Microbiology and Parasitology, Department of Clinical Studies, and Department of Public Health, Pharmacology, and Toxicology. External funding played a key role in the initial infrastructure development. The Department of Veterinary Pathology, Microbiology and Parasitology was built with the help of USAID funds. Rockefeller Foundation provided physical facilities for all Pre-clinical Departments. The German government provided the funds to put up the Department of Clinical Studies while the Government of Norway provided funds to put up the Department of Animal Production and the Department of Public Health, Pharmacology and Toxicology.


For more information, click Here