About Us


The Faculty of Agriculture of the University of Nairobi started in 1970/1971 with five departments namely agricultural economics, applied plant science, crop production, entomology and soil science.  On its inception, 41 students joined the faculty to pursue B.Sc. Agriculture degree.The aim then was to train personnel who were broadly knowledgeable in most aspects of agricultural sciences namely soil, crop and animal production, crop protection, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, rural sociology and extension, range management and food science.In addition to these subjects, basic sciences such as physiology, biochemistry, mathematics, botany and zoology were taught.  Farm practise was also a component of this programme.

More degree programes including; B.Sc. Food Science & Technology, B. Sc. Agricultural Engineering and B. Sc. Range Management were mounted. In the current decade, many others have been and continue to be developed in response to client needs.There are at least 8 undergarduate programmes which  include: (1) BSc. Agriculture; (2) BSc. Food  Science & Technology; (3) BSc. Food Nutrition & Dietetics; (4) BSc. Agribusiness Management; (5) BSc. Agricultural Education and Extension; (6) BSc. Range Management; (7) BSc. Management of Agroecosystem & Environment; and (8) BSc. Horticulture.Postgraduate studies include: 19 Master of science programes; namely: Agric economics, Applied Economics, Agriculture information & Communication management, Agricultural  Resource Management, Range Management, Land and Water, Soil Science, Agronomy, Horticulture, Plant breeding, Crop Protection, Plant Pathology, Seed Science and Technology, Applied Human Nutrition, Food Science & Technology, Animal Nutrition and Feed Science, Animal Genetics and Breeding, Livestock production Systems and Poultry Sciences. In addition the faculty offers PhD programmes in line with the masters programes.


The programmes are housed in 5 departments; namely: The Plant Science & Crop Protection (PS&CP), Land Agricultural Resources  Management & Agricultural technology (LARMAT), Food Science, Nutrition & Technology (FSNT), Agricultural Economics and Animal production (shared with the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine). Currently most of the undergraduate and masters courses are offered through face to face mode, however, the faculty is uploading many to be offered through open distance and electronic learning and especially through through electronic learning platforms.

The wide spectrum confers a tremendous faculty/departmental competitive advantage toward teaching and learning, scholarly information generation through research and sharing through scientific information management and exchange besdes innovation devevelopment. 

The main employer for these graduates has been the public sector specifically the Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Cooperative Development.  A few graduates have been employed by government Parastatal boards and financial institutions such as Agricultural Finance Corporation (AFC), National Bank of Kenya, Kenya Commercial Bank, and Standard Chartered Bank.  A small proportion of these graduates is employed in the private sector such as the agro-chemical companies, feed and food processing companies, agricultural farm/estates, agricultural commodity institutes (Tea and Coffee Research Foundations).



  1. Prof. T.R. Odhiambo.                  1970-1971     Renowned African Scientist of the last century  
  2. Prof. R.B Contant                       1971-1972      Retired at ISNAR
  3. Prof. R.S. Musangi                     1972-1976      Former VC Egerton University served on                                                                                         many international agricultural science boards
  4. Prof. C.N. Karue                         1976-1980       ICRAF
  5. Prof. D.N. Ngugi                         1980-1984      
  6.  Prof S.O. Keya                          1984-1988        Former VC Moi University
  7.  Prof. D.N. Mukunya                   1988-1993        Former principal C.A.V.S.
  8.  Prof. Kimani Waithaka               1993-1997
  9.  Prof. J.K. Imungi                        1998-2003
  10.  Prof. A.W. Mwang’ombe             2003-2005      Former principal C.A.V.S

    11.Prof. J.K. Nderitu                          2006-2010       DVC Research Mount Kenya University

  1. Prof. S.I. Shibairo                        2011- 2013
  2. Prof. N.R. Kinuthia                      2016                
  3. Prof.G.Chemining'wa                  June 2018-   March 2020
  4. Prof. M.Nyangito                         2021-                Present



  • 1969. The BSc. Agriculture curriculum developed
  • 1970 completion of construction of faculty of agriculture building
  • 1970/71. The first batch of students were admitted to pursue BSc. Agriculture
  • In response to the need for slightly more specialized graduates in various disciplines of agriculture, the BS.c Agriculture curriculum was revised in the mid 1970’s.  This resulted in various degree programmes in the Faculty of Agriculture namely;  BSc. Food Science and Technology, BSc. Forestry, BSc. Range Management in addition to BSc. Agriculture.  Later BSc. Agricultural Engineering was introduced.
  • Majority of the current MSc. Programmes were initiated between 1974 and 1978 to meet the demand for highly trained specialists to serve in various sectors of agriculture.  For instance MSc. Plant Pathology was demand-driven, where the Ministry of Agriculture required plant pathologists to serve in various research institutes.  The MSc. Applied Human Nutrition and Range Management were initiated as regional programmes to train personnel from sub-Saharan countries and have played this role effectively.  The other MSc. Programmes in earlier times trained personnel from both Kenya and Eastern and Central Africa.
  • 1980. Completion of construction of LARMAT and Library
  • 2009. First programe offered in ODeL, MSc. Crop Protection, rolleld out 2009. Completion of 8-4-4 building
  • August 2012 launch of Faculty of Agriculture Alummni Chapter of the University of Nairobi